Popped
The Poppedcast
The Poppedcast - James Earl Jones, Will Smith Autobiography & LOTR
4
0:00
-23:02

The Poppedcast - James Earl Jones, Will Smith Autobiography & LOTR

Episode 1
4

Hello and welcome to Popped! A newsletter about the history and culture of cinema.

This week I’m trying out a new regular post. I tend to jump from one thing to another so I thought it may be time to settle on at least one thing at least semi-regularly.

After a while of dabbling in podcasts, I've come to enjoy a few and thought I should “borrow” some ideas and make them my own.

Ok fine, I’ll just come clean and tell you exactly where I’ve taken the idea from…

One of my favourites for a while has been The Socially Distanced Sports Bar, a podcast dedicated to the world of sport. It’s not a current affairs program, but they discuss YouTube clips, books and documentaries. The chat among Elis, Mike and Steff often has me laughing out loud in public places and their Welsh view of the world is an anchor to home.

So basically, I'm doing a similar thing, but in the world of cinema!

Each month there will be some clips I find interesting, a book (could be a memoir, a biography, or a book about the film world), and one other thing!

I would really appreciate any feedback if you happen to have any. Is this a bad idea? A great one? Also any books, clips or other interesting cinema culture/history related things you think would be a great addition, let me know!


Episode 1

Without further ado, here it is. All of the information you need as you listen to this episode can be found in the links below. Plus there are a few extra bits like the video of my LOTR box set….Enjoy!

James Earl Jones

Here are the links to the video clips I discuss around James Earl Jones

His Fences performance:

Jones’ Top Ten Things That Sound Cool:

Share

Will by Will Smith

Below is a link if you would like to buy the book AND help out local bookshops (Not sure if there is a version of this website in other countries??):

Bookshop.org


The Lord of the Rings - Extended Edition Box Set

If you didn’t read my last newsletter, have a read about the time I bought 600 DVD’s!

In case you would like to see the actual, lovely, shiny, box set, here’s a clip from the podcast recording (be warned..it’s nerdy).


Thanks for listening and reading. If you like what you’ve seen today please do share with others you think may be interested!

Gareth

Share

Popped is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Popped
The Poppedcast
Movie history, stories and culture. My exploration into the magic of the silver screen from then to now.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Gareth Bradwick