Popped
The Popped Podcast
Movie Bits & Pieces: Disney & Singing Apes
Preview
0:00
-5:19

Movie Bits & Pieces: Disney & Singing Apes

Full Post + Bonus Bits

Welcome Back to Popped

It’s been a little while since I've done a post of things. I said I’d do these once a month, but that was a lesson in failing to deliver. There are bits below that I’ve kept by from other newsletters, some quotes I like, and up coming dates for your diary.

This time I have enhanced the newsletter for paid subscribers with attempts at forming some sort of opinion on the latest releases like Dune 2, Godzilla x Kong and Robot Dreams, if that’s your bag.

Remember that the audio version above if you would like to listen instead of read! If you are a free subscriber, you still get most of the post, plus audio, even though it says preview.

Enjoy

Runaway Bride -As Maggie escapes on a Fedex truck

Where do you think she’s going?

Well, wherever it is she’ll be there by 10:30 tomorrow.

Disney in Lincolnshire

A few months ago my Mum sent me a newspaper snippet about the time that Walt Disney traced his ancestor’s to a small village called Norton Disney in Lincolnshire.

In 1949, while supervising the filming of Treasure Island, Disney and his wife took a trip to the village and it seems to have made an impression. Years later in 1964, to commemorate the tenth anniversary of Disneyland, he was asked to suggest a crest for Sleeping Beauty’s castle. Inspired from his visit to the local church in the UK, Disney used the three lion emblem which you will see on all Disney castles to this day.

On the modern version of their movie intro, you may just catch a glimpse of it on the flag too!

Thanks for the content, Mum!

image from dizbuff.com

Talk Show of the Apes

Running late from the set of Battle for the Planet of the Apes in 1973, Paul Williams shows up at The Johnny Carson Show in full make-up and costume for his interview.

It’s an incredible clip. Williams starts with a song, causally picking up his cigarette as the crowd howls with laughter. The subsequent interview is hilarious as well. It’s a dry sense of humour that’s just up my street.

When asked if it is a mask or make-up, Williams replies,

“this is seven months of nothing but banana daiquiris”.

What a line. I love the 70’s for stuff like this.

From Elsewhere

This week I’ve had the pleasure of discovering

Cole Haddon

‘s 5AM StoryTalk, a newsletter about stories in all their forms. A few days ago Cole wrote about an amazing tracking shot captured in 1927 from the movie Wings, as well as how it was created. The whole post, and Cole’s newsletter is well worth your time!

Find the post and shot here.

Star Wars Ep 1 - Re-Release

The Phantom Menace, along with most of the Star Wars stuff since the originals, has received its fair share of criticism since its release 25 years ago. The tides are turning though, with fans growing soft in their old age and recognising the merit and fun to be had in these films made during the Big Bang of CGI.

On May 4th weekend this year, Episode 1 will be re-released in cinemas. I’ve got my ticket. Yes it’s a bit naff but there are some iconic moments. I don’t even mind JaJa.

Here’s a fascinating interview with Hayden Christensen as he looks back at his up and down relationship with the saga.

Will you be going!?

Still my favourite poster of all time!

Coming up on Popped

At the end of April I will be heading to The Cardiff Animation Festival to bring you a flavour of what it’s like, the films that are played and hopefully some interviews with the filmmakers themselves. As with everything on my newsletter, the focus is on inspiring folk to get out and experience cinema if you can, so I’ll be videoing as much as possible to inspire you to get to a film festival nearby.

If you are free and anywhere near Cardiff, the festival is on from 25th - 28th April. You can also get an online pass if you can’t attend. All of the information is on their website:

https://www.cardiffanimation.com

Let me know if you are going, it would be great to say hello!

Latest Releases - My thoughts

The next portion of the newsletter includes bonus material for paid subscribers. This is where I get all uncomfortable and British about asking for things. But here we go…

If you enjoy my writing and would like to support, a paid annual subscription is £20 for the year (just £1.66 a month). This gives you access to bonus content, as well as a warm fuzzy feeling that you’re supporting someone with their work. Going to festivals and touring the country to visit old cinemas is something I really want to do. But it obviously costs a fair bit! Anything I receive from this newsletter goes directly to funding those posts. So, monthly or annual subscriptions will help a lot!

Phew that’s that.. Here we go then!

Dune: Part Two

Things didn’t get off to a great start when the person next to me arrived late and sat on my cup. He righted himself, and I was left with the thought of gradual dehydration for the next two hours.

This post is for paid subscribers

Popped
The Popped Podcast
Movie history, stories and culture. My exploration into the magic of the silver screen from then to now.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Gareth Bradwick
Recent Episodes
  Gareth Bradwick